New Silverlight 3 / Blend 3 Video Tutorial – Working with Data


In this tutorial you will learn about:

1. Creating custom data objects
2. INotifyPropertyChanged
3. ObservableCollections
4. Binding collections to a ListBox
5. Editing a ListBox DataTemplate
6. Importing a custom Panel
7. Overriding the default panel of a ListBox
8. Overriding the ItemsContainer of a ListBox
9. Importing XML as a data source
10. Creating a DataSource from an ObservableCollection

URL: http://www.windowspresentationfoundation.com/WorkingWithDataInSL.wmv

EMAIL NOTIFICATION:To be notified of new tutorials, online workshops, articles, etc. by me email me at wpfauthor at gmail dot comwith the subject line “Silverlight Email List”

TWITTER:To be notified of new tutorials, online workshops, articles, etc. by me follow me on Twitter.  Screename: victorgaudioso

INSTANT MESSENGER:AOL: victoratrezn8 | MSN: victor.gaudioso@identitymine.com | Yahoo!: victoratdeadline

  1. good all information thank 4 sharing, i hope yu can visit back to my site later [my site]

  2. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work

  3. Thanks for doing this.
    Can you please tell me where I can find the CircularPanel and/or similar panels?

    Thanks you again,
    Hassan

  4. Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read…

    – Bill Bartmann

  5. Thanks Bill, I am very happy to hear you are getting a lot out of my posts. I try and offer the reader something everytime I post.

  6. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

  7. I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read.. <a href="http://wiki.hudson-ci.org/display/~bill-bartmann&quot;

    -Bill-Bartmann

  8. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

  9. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

  10. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

  11. Hi Victor,

    Just worked my way through this one (Loved it by the way). Slight problem that im getting is just before you animate out the circular list (42:09) on the video it stops. Tried downloading the video direct but exactly the same problem. Looks like the wmv file has become corrupt.

    Im going to have a go at animating the objects out blind (without your good self to guide me) but if you do get a chance to replace the vid with a back up copy (if you have one) it would be nice to see the end result.

    Paul.

    • Hello Paul. I just looked at the video and it appears that it didn’t completely finish uploading. I am re-uploading it now; looks like its going to take about 90 minutes. Sorry for the inconvenience. I would guide you but I don’t even remember what I showed how to do in that video lol.

  12. Hi Victor
    I’m very new to blend and I need a very basic code to make that button call an hyperlink to create live buttons in blend to be used in Expressions 3 to call the other pages in my site, I try the help in blend (the sample code there only give an error at time to run it) and look in your book Expression blend 3 but I can’t find the answer to to this simple task. Can you help?

    Thank you

    • Hello Francisco,
      I think I understand what you are asking. It would seem to me that you are asking how you can click a button on a Silverlight page and load in a brand new page with different content. Is this correct? Victor

  13. Hi Victor
    Thank you for your time, and yes is exact that I want load a new page in HTML because I want to create a navigation buttons in blend to be used in my page in Expressions Web.

    • Hello again Francisco,
      I misunderstood what you were asking. I thought you were asking how to click a navigation button in Silverlight and then load a new Silverlight page (not HTML). I made a tutorial just for you on how to do exactly that here: http://tinyurl.com/2b3qctt .

      I will try and make a new tutorial very soon, possibly this evening, showing you how to click a Silverilght button and load HTML.

      Thanks, Victor

  14. Hi Victor
    I really appreciate all this, I just try to make a good website for my business, and I have hard time trying to get the answer for this simple task. I appreciate for your help.

    • Judy
    • May 25th, 2010

    Victor,

    I really apprecaite by making this video. Can you please tell me where I can find the that behavior cs file that sends the selected item to the front?

    Thanks you again,
    Judy

  1. August 12th, 2009
    Trackback from : DotNetShoutout

Leave a Reply

