My New Silverlight Article/Tutorial on the MSFT Expression Website


Hello All,

My new Silverlight article/tutorial has been published on the MSFT Expression website and featured in the January Expression Newsletter.  Take a look!

My Article: http://expression.microsoft.com/en-us/ee942883.aspx?=expnl

January Expression Newsletter: http://expression.microsoft.com/en-us/ff356864.aspx

Enjoy!

    • Sergey
    • February 6th, 2010

    Hi,
    It’s a very smart approach to have three columns in a ListBox. What happens if the content of your items will be any longer than “ListBoxItem”? I’m afraid it becomes a two column ListBox! Very good advice for beginners. To be honest I can’t believe that is’ published in Expression Newsletter.

  1. Hey Sergey, why all the sarcasam? I didn’t say that a three column ListBox was for every situation; but there are going to be times when developers will encounter the situation where a three column ListBox is appropriate. If you read my post you will see that I came accross just such a situation in a real world development project. I had to figure out how to do it and I thought it would be helpful to write about it in case another developer came accross a similar situation. I did not charge anyone any money to write the article; I just did it to help anyone that might be up against the same problem I came up against.
    That being said, maybe you, Sergey should take a look at your sarcastic self and ask what you have done for the Silverlight community out of the kindness of your own heart. I am certain it will not consist of three published books and 35 (and growing) free Silverlight video tutorials not to mention countless, free presentations. But alas, I could be wrong.

    • funwithcoding
    • February 6th, 2010

    @Sergey,

    It is quite disappointing to see such a sarcastic comment. Victor wrote this article with a very good intention of helping others. I am quite sure there will be lot of people looking for solutions like this(which includes me). This approach helped me very much to handle my task at my work. Victor’s works are helping the silverlight community alot. If it doesnt fit your requirement then that doesnt mean that this article is useless. If you have any better approach for this particular task, you should have mentioned a better approach politely. If you cant respect a fellow developer, others will not respect you. This article really deserves a appreciation of the author for his time,effort,commitment and his best intention to help others.

    @Victor
    Great Job!

  2. Thank you FunWithCoding; I appreciate the very kind words. I don’t understand when those who don’t really do much to help the community enjoy taking shots at others. It takes guts to expose your methods to others for fear that you might be harshly critiqued but I do it because I want to help people and Silverlight in general. I get a little hurt by such comments but I take them in the non-helpful, sometimes mean spirit in which they were intended and try and let them roll off my back. As long as I help kind, cool people like yourself I will continue to do it. Thanks again for the support!

  3. I like WrapPanel as an ItemsPanel as well, it’s very helpful when you need to arrange multiple objects on a small space. Good article!

  4. I completely second FunWithCoding’s comment.. Sergey, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE FOR THE COMMUNITY? Please show me your blogs/tuts and I’ll critique them for you. Let’s see how u feel.

    Victor.. irrespective of what others have said, let me re-assure to you: u’re doing ONE HECK OF A JOB helping the community. I know, things like these will disturb anyone, but please continue what u’re doing. U know you’re helping thousands by sharing information. I guess once in a while a bad penny comes by.

    Arun

  5. I think this is a very clean approach. Nice one, Victor. Thanks once again for your work for the community. Cheers!

    • Sergey
    • February 7th, 2010

    Hi all who attacked me for my comment. You are right, I am awfully sorry that I wrote my criticism in such a rude form. I really didn’t think that it could be offensive when I wrote that and I hate when other people do things like I did. And I hate myself now. It doesn’t matter how much I’ve done for the community or for anyone else because no merit allows offending others.

    I was expecting something more useful in Expression Newsletter. The title of the article offers to create a three column ListBox. But the result is hardly to be called “a three column ListBox” because this solution depends on many factors which are not stable in most cases. It happens really infrequently when we have a list box with a constant width and constant length of its items. So, it’s my opinion. But as I’ve said I’m sorry for the form in which I’ve stated it. I apologize to Victor and ask him bear no grudge against me.

    • The funny thing is, Sergey, you are still wrong. If you contend that making the text longer than “ListBoxItem” makes the ListBox turn into a two columned ListBox that may be true. All you would need to do to fix this would be to edit the DataTemplate and make the TextBlock a fixed size and tell the TextBlock to Wrap, problem solved. But rather than asking how to fix the problem you decided to slam the entire project esentially throwing out the baby with the bathwater.

        • Sergey
        • February 7th, 2010

        Ok, Victor, if you use the TextBlocks you can fix their size. In this way you have to fix the width of the ListBox too. In some cases it might be quite enough. Occasionally everyone uses such a strictly specialized solution and everyone knows that it is not good enough but it saves time and therefore it is reasonable. But it is not a true ThreeColumnListBox, and I think it’s a very obvious thing. For such a component it would be enough to customize your own panel with three columns hardcoded. But it would be what it is called.

        It’s nothing more than my IMHO, Victor.
        Anyway I don’t have any other arguments.

  6. Again, you are wrong, this is a specific solution to a specific problem that a default ListBox does not address and if you think about it, what ARE WPF and Silverlight? They have a set of Controls that MSFT allows you to manipulate via Styles, ControlTemplates and DataTemplates so you can tweak the Control to fit your specific problem. I just showed people how to tweak it so they can have three columns if in fact they need it. So, if you are saying I should have thrown away the ListBox and made a Custom Control you may have some validity but I, and I am pretty sure most, would not want to re-invent the wheel when you can easily and quickly use Styles to fix the problem. Stop being hell-bent on being right and listen to what I am telling you and you will learn something because I know what I am talking about and I am correct; If I weren’t do you really think MSFT would allow an incorrect article on their website? Further, I can take any issue you may think is a game stopper and re-work my sample to work with. So instead of trying to argue a moot point, find something that my example doesn’t work with and burn caliroies trying to make it work; maybe then you can write an article describling the problem and describing your fix.

Leave a Reply

