New Silverlight Video Tutorial: The Blend IDE – Part 1 – the Toolbar


Hello All,

In all my presentations I realized that there are many SL/WPF developers out there that are afraid of the Blend IDE and subsequently don’t use it.  This is a travesty because Blend makes many tasks, especially those that have to do with UI and Animation so much easier. 

For that reason I decided to create a multi-part set of tutorials all focused on teaching you about the Blend Integrated Development Environment (IDE).  This is just part 1 and focuses on teaching all about the Blend toolbar.  Other tutorials will focus on such things as:

1. The Artboard

2. Properties Panel

3. Data Panel

4. Projects Panel

5. Objects and Timeline Panel

6. States Panel

7. The Storyboard Timeline

And much more.  Please enjoy part 1 and feel free to leave me comments.

Victor

Video: http://tinyurl.com/yjyz5av

  1. At first I thought this was for complete beginners only and I won’t see anything interesting in there. But I’ve found some things I didn’t know, like double-clicking on hand, etc. Thanks, Victor!

  2. Thanks Victor. Looking forward to your future tutorials in this series.

    Paul.

    • funwithcoding
    • February 21st, 2010

    Awesome! Good Intro! Pls continue the series …. thank you victor for ur efforts.

    • Dave
    • February 21st, 2010

    Victor – you have no idea how much you’re helping the community. Thank you!

  3. Thank you all so much for the very nice comments. Yes Alan, I agree; there is always something to learn no matter how much you know. Everytime I give a presentation on Silverlight I learn at least one new thing from the audience and I am on my third book on the subject! I am glad to see that everyone is excited about this series and I will be adding more soon. Victor

  4. Thanks! This helped a lot! I’ve read several
    rather confusing websites lately, this cleared up some confusion I had.

    • jsp3536
    • February 21st, 2010

    I liked your tutorial. Your flow was very informative. I look forward to the rest of the series

    • Catherine Russell
    • February 22nd, 2010

    Hi Victor,
    thanks for sharing it with us!

    Catherine

    • DennisO
    • February 22nd, 2010

    Great info Victor ! I especially liked the select obj / double-click the Pan tool technique to find a wayward object.

    Can’t wait for your next tutorial !

    D

  5. U da man! 🙂

  6. Just want to say THANK you so very much for your QUALITY video’s. As a professional working Chef with a strong passion for programming and web deveolpment my knowldge level tends to hit major barricades, that at times can take months to years to find answers. Between your books and video blogs I think silverlight and the expressions studio will be the fastest I have learned a new workflow…..Thanx so much for your passion for education.

    Your newest loyal fan

    Sean Little
    C.C.C.

    • Large Plastic Storage Boxes
    • March 18th, 2010

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the awesome work Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    • Thiago
    • April 29th, 2010

    Dude… You’re awesome… I picked up your Expression Blend 2 Book that I bought a couple years ago, and I just regret not reading it any sooner. really enjoy the book, the tutorials online, and all your expertise. Nicely Done! Looking forward to your new books.

Leave a Reply

