New Silverlight Video Tutorial: The Blend IDE – Part 5 – Creating Storyboard in Blend’s Animation Workspace


 

Hello All,

In this, Part 5 of the Learn Blend IDE series I show you how to create Storyboard animations with Blend’s Animation Workspace.  Learn about the Animation Timeline panel, how to create, duplicate, rename, delete and reverse Storyboards.  Learn how to zoom in on the Timeline and how to change the frame rate snap resolution.  Even learn about animation Easing functions to give your animation simulated physics.  Finally learn how to use the ControlStoryboardAction Behavior to control your Storyboards.

Video: http://windowspresentationfoundation.com/Tutorials/BlendIDE/Part5/

    • sk8tz
    • March 14th, 2010

    Hi Victor,

    Please, make your videos available for download, from part 1 – 5. And hey great job, keep them videos coming.

    • Bill Campbell
    • March 14th, 2010

    Hi Victor,

    I’ve really been enjoying your Blend IDE Series. Thanks much for the good info! I was wondering if there is a simple way to add cursor behvavior in SL/WPF? In particular, I would like to show the busy cursor with the Win7 style blue spinning circle during a long running activity. I don’t know if there is something built in to WPF/SL to handle this or if you need to do your own animation to handle this?

    thanks!
    Bill

    • I am happy you are getting a lot from my videos; that is exactly why I made them. As for your cursor question; yes it is possible to change the cursor for the entire application at anytime programatically. And, one of those cursors is in fact the Wait cursor seen in Win7 apps. I made this quick demo for you here:

      http://windowspresentationfoundation.com/Tutorials/CursorDemo/

      Tell me if this is what you were looking for and I will post up the source for you.

      Victor

    • Bill Campbell
    • March 15th, 2010

    Hi Victor,

    WOW! That’s awesome and is what I was looking for. I’ve also noticed that you can have the pointer and spinning circle next to it. I don’t know if that is built in functionality as well.

    Wishing I was at MIX with you guys!!
    thanks!
    Bill

    • That is great! Would you like the source code? That goes for anyone else as well. Let me know and I will zip it up and place it on my server and post the link for you here.

      Also, yes that functionality is built right into Silverlight. MSFT thought of everything, didn’t they?
      Victor

        • Bill Campbell
        • March 15th, 2010

        Victor,
        Yes PLEASE!! I’d love to have the source.

        Yes – they are thinking of so much that my head is about to explode. Wish I could keep up! LOL!

        thanks,
        Bill

        • Bill Campbell
        • March 16th, 2010

        Hi Victor,

        Plese do let me know when you zip this up! I know you’re at MIX (lucky guy 🙂 and will watch for the link.

        regards,
        Bill

      • Hello Bill, I have zipped up the source for you. You can download it here: http://windowspresentationfoundation.com/Tutorials/CursorDemoSL3.zip

        This will show you all you need to do to change the application cursor programmatically. Let me know if I can help you with anything else.
        Victor

    • Ted Reischl
    • March 15th, 2010

    Another good video! Working ‘live’ can be a challenge. I had the luxury of investigating doing ‘repeats’ without a camera staring me in the face. Here is how to do it without going into code:

    1. Storyboard must be open.

    2. At the top of the Objects & Timeline panel you will see the name of the Storyboard. Select it.

    3. Over in the Properties>Common Properties panel you will see the AutoReverse checkbox and Repeat Behavior dropdown.

    What is totally cool about Victors video is that I knew I had seen the Repeat behavior somewhere. His video made me go find it, but in the process I discovered the AutoReverse! That is a really great feature in itself. If checked, it will cause the animation to play, then reverse play. Saves having to create two storyboards to return something to the original location. WOW!

    I am a real learner when it comes to Blend, but I have been doing animations for about 3 weeks now, and sort of thought, well, I suppose I should watch this video. Uh huh, just when a person thinks they know it all. They learn all sorts of new things. Thanks Victor.

    • Haha! Thanks Ted! I KNEW there was a way to do this without editing the XAML by hand but I couldn’t figure it out especially while in the middle of recording the video. Thank you So Much for the help. It goes to show: even if you are or think you are an expert there is ALWAYS something you can still learn. Every time, without fail, I do a live SL presentation I learn at least One new thing from the audience and I LOVE It!

      Thank you all for watching my videos and presentations, reading my books and anything else I do; I promise you that if we stick together we will all be Silverlight experts and we WILL “Light up the Web!”

      My Best, Victor Gaudioso

      PS: On my way to MIX10 now! See you there!

      Sent from my iPhone

    • Bill Campbell
    • March 17th, 2010

    Victor,

    Thanks Much! I really appreciate it. Thanks for all you do for the community. Sure wish I could have been there at MIX10 to meet ya… maybe PDC.

    regards,
    Bill

  1. Awesome storyboard video – thank you sir.

    Your sharing so much of your hard work is really appreciated.

    David Roh

  1. March 13th, 2010
    Trackback from : uberVU – social comments

Leave a Reply

