New Silverlight Video Tutorial: How to Save an Image in Your Silverlight Applications


Hello All,

I get asked this question probably more than most and that is, how can I save an image to my hard drive from my Silverlight applications.  Well the answer is, I use Joe Stegman’s PngEncoder.cs to do the job.  It works so well and you can implement it in about 5 minutes.  Don’t believe me?  Watch this 7 minute video where I show you how to create a new Silverlight application, add an image to it, add two class files and one method and then save an image right from my Silverlight application.

Video: http://tinyurl.com/34b6lqp

Source Files:

The SaveTheImage Method (text file) http://tinyurl.com/34xu9ms

My PhotoboothApp http://tinyurl.com/3957u55

The PngEncoder.cs file: http://tinyurl.com/28u26mq

The EditiableImage.cs file: http://tinyurl.com/2uuhvrn

 

  1. Very interesting tutorial. When does the book come out? I’ve been looking to learn Silverlight for quite some time now, but I don’t get much from the online tutorials.

  2. Thanks for your tutorials. It helps me to see the process. You are super fast though! 🙂

    I follow your updates on Twitter as StuffSmart.

    • Don Pavlik
    • May 1st, 2010

    Noticed this is for a quick tutorial, but didn’t SL 3 get the image manipulation library that was part of WPF for manipulating and saving images? I had used this code library before for an image uploader and it does have performance issues when dealing with large quantities of files so I had to go another way, but was lead to believe in SL 3 that image saving/manipulation support would be a part of SL native library.

    • Ellen
    • May 1st, 2010

    As a Paint Shop Pro user (since version 6/7ish-current)and also a Photoshop user this Silverlight had me kind of intrigued. Like learning anything, I would have to watch those tuts quite a few times before I ‘got it’. I do like how after I installed Silverlight, it went from playing the tuts in Media Player into it’s own player- pretty nifty.
    The coding makes me somewhat skittish, but if the codes are kind of scripted, perhaps it won’t be so frightening to experiment with. I have been fascinated with graphics for quite some time, and always like seeing the newest technology!
    I am following as @tannawings on Twitter- don’t discount all of us folks as some do watch your tutorials and we might learn a thing or two!

    • T
    • May 1st, 2010

    Did you really mean to give out that url in your video? People can get to more info than you may have wanted them too. Please feel free to delete this comment after you read it. I have tried e-mailing you before with no response and can’t DM you so this may be the only way to give you a heads up.

    • Ellen
    • May 2nd, 2010

    Still watching tuts- are all animations done in storybook? The bounce looks alot easier than lining up and ‘hoping’ it’s smooth when played. Have this bookmarked.
    And please do no assume that all who might do contests on Twitter are somehow less than the average followers. For me, it is a hobby- same as doing graphics and playing with programs.Both are fun to do 🙂

  3. The only negative comment that I have is I think you are over driving you mic just a bit.

    I have watched a few of your videos(learning blend mostly), and I have recommended them to a number of my friends. Being a commandline/dev type guy, blend just sort of rubbed me the wrong way. However, I know now I need to learn/love it. It just makes things easier.

    No, I am not sucking up to win a laptop. 🙂 I have been following for a while and will continue todo so.

    Harold

  4. Cool idea, nice demo too 🙂

    • Frank
    • May 2nd, 2010

    Nice video….will be watching your others also. Thanks for your work.

    • Timur Zanagar
    • May 2nd, 2010

    Really easy to use if you’re new to Silverlight.

    • JB
    • May 21st, 2010

    This is great, was very easy to use and integrate. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

